No. 197 Flat White …please.

The exact quote is:  ” I need another coffee.” This quote was found in the movie series called Brokenwood. Series 3  The Black Widower.

An excellent way to spend and evening inside when there’s a blizzard outside.

Whoa …wait a minute…so today I went into Dogwood Coffee Shop on Lake Street in South Minneapolis…and I asked the young guy  if he had ever made a Flat White? He said yes and both men agreed that they liked drinking this version of coffee. Then I asked did they know that a Flat white is also called a ” Failed Cappuccino? ” They said yes and before I could get them both talking about ten people walked into the coffee shop to order coffee…so I had to let the subject drop. Turns out, there are two guys  always fighting about who invented this description Flat White. Alan Preston of  Sydney, Australia and Fraser McInnes of  New Zealand. Mr. Preston said he called his drinks “White Coffee Flat…” as far back as 1985. Whereas Mr. McInnes adds a story to his assertion that he truly was the first. He was trying to make a cappuccino with a milk which was low in fat and as he said it failed to rise. When he set it down in front of the customer he said, “Sorry Mate, It’s a Flat White.” Neither of the men as far as I could research patented the words as their own. In 2015, Starbucks entered the arena and decided to give the first rights to Alan Preston. I get the feeling there are tiffs between these two countries because of their closeness. One is always vying over the other. If I was the judge lording over this court case… I would have to write my judgement on the side of  Mr. McInnes. He would be allotted at least five minutes to dance around the court …pumping his fists into the air . Satisfied his momentary victory dance was in a completion stage… I would then risk the ire of both …split the royalties in half . With this pronouncement , I would then ban both from  my court. Truthfully,  I would have to question the validity of their minds remembering something so distinctly, being that it’s been 32 years ago! Simple and Sweet.

If we have a flat earth is that how a flat white coffee evolved as well? read and learn.

You can never read just one book on coffee….

Learn all kinds of ways to make coffee delicious…

A map of Australia and New Zealand….just for fun…

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑