No.12 The Unicorn…

I feel like I’m the female version of Rip Van Winkle. Asleep for a hundred years. Surprise…Surprise!! I didn’t know that the ” Frappuccino ” was a trademarked brand of Starbucks Corporation.  Where have I been?  Hidden away in Minnesota-somehow I thought it was an Italian invention and it originally came from Rome or Florence. What was I thinking? This morning in the New York Times Business section there was an article on the “Unicorn Frappuccino.”  While enjoying my Cafe Miel at The Dogwood Coffee Bar on Lake Street I found myself reading parts of the article to the baristas . We all were laughing at the imaginary hype of -“You’ve got only 5 days to try it ! Before it disappears! We found that instead of an adrenalin rush…that might of  carried our flailing bodies into a Starbucks-to try it out. We found our feet stationarily glued to the floor in opposition to the crazed marketing. Just reading the charts of  410 calories, 140 from the fat and 59 grams of sugar-made me feel gluttonous.!  Though Peoples Bodies website  featured two very athletic people -Pete O’Donnel and Ally Leard to show what kind of exercises really would burn the calories after a person drank one of these frappuccinos and I found just watching the videos made me both anxious and visually tired enough that I knew it wasn’t even an option for me.  They said we need to do; 100 Mountain Climbers, 75 Kettlebell Swings, 50 Pushups, 50 Burpees, 1000m on a rowing machine, 75 Situps and 100 Double Unders. See what I mean?  Already, on YouTube Brooke Clarke with the Cheeky Kitchen shows you how you can make one-at home. But I think I will have to pass.

P.S.  Oh, and for the visually astute …the image above isn’t the real Unicorn Frappucino…it’s missing more whip cream, blue and pink sprinkles and the squiggly blue & red sauce they squeeze into the cup for I suppose  for visual excitement.

P.S.S.  Please note this blended drink does not have coffee in it, but since it’s made in Starbucks I can only conclude it’s eligible for my CollectingCoffee Collection.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

